My Gumbo Not Your Gumbo

“Fear is not real. The only place that fear can exist is in our thoughts of the future. It is a product of our imagination, causing us to fear things that do not at present and may not ever exist. That is near insanity. Do not misunderstand me danger is very real but fear is a choice.”  –Will Smith, After Earth

The movie was not so good but this quote to his son really resonated with me the Dali Lamia, Aristotle and Socrates say the same thing but this I refer to all the time for any changes I plan to implement and as my explanation for nay-sayers.   It has helped to change my very perception of information and forced me to acknowledge that virtually every aspect of my life has been conditioned to accept killer for profit rational.   Scary but it is the world we live in so with my change of perception I changed my life, now I am pain free and ready to be me.

The Difference Between Wisdom and Intelligence 

“Intelligence is the ability to learn from your mistakes. Wisdom is the ability to learn from the mistakes of others.”– Anonymous

My journey as a layman has been fascinating and filled with so much information quite an overload so I simplified by focusing on anti-inflammatory herbs, my own bodily reactions, essential oils and food.  My perception needs critical thinking skills and applied knowledge in the Age of the Spin, sounds easy until your immersed in media (all forms) BS.  First and foremost, acceptance with resistance to see the reality of my environment.

I believe I stayed ill for so long due to our societal dependence on pharmaceuticals, toxic pollutants in our food/skin care products/clothing/environment/etc. and the misrepresentation/degradation of global cultural medical achievements for profit. Forgot to mention, my absolute resolve that doing more or less of the same things would create a change, INsAnITy.  None of this worked for me.

Truth in the Age of SpinThe bottom line is that spin is a form of lying. And it’s not the harmless “little white” lying we all do when we’re not being fully forthcoming about how we think someone looks in a new dress or not saying all we actually think about someone’s foolishness in order to maintain some degree of sensitivity and civility. Rather, it’s a deliberate attempt to manage the impressions of others and manipulate them, which makes it one of the most insidious and destructive forms of lying.        –Dr. George Simon, PhD

The Gumbo my bod prepared has Piriformis Syndrome, Fibromyalgia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Sciatica, Mackerel Degeneration – Eye (Opthamologist stated quite rare in people with high levels of melanin, “How did I get here?”, PAIN, Chronic Dry Lips, Chronic Fatigue, Swelling, Bloating, IBS, Abdominal Distress, Weight Gain, Hormonal Imbalances, Yellowish Sclera, Chemical Imbalances and bouts of Insomnia – I may take a nap from just reading this list, that is incomplete with way more symptoms, too many.  In addition, physical exertion affects me in two ways with immediate unwarranted pain or delayed debilitating pain by up to 5 days.

While I researched each disorder and symptom the only common denominators were nutrient deficiency and dehydration with most of the symptoms being a direct result of my body not being able to perform mechanical functions due to depletion and the vary catalyst for autoimmune disorders.  Processed food is manufactured with vital minerals and nutrients destroyed, manipulated or removed during the process.  In addition, synthetic or natural extracts are reintroduced thereby alternating the genetic and/or biological composition.  Research your Gumbo and make note of the “MOST” common denominator or just look up the ramifications of nutrient deficiency and dehydration.  In addition, pharmaceuticals compound and initiate the sequence of events that are detrimental to your overall health, plus you will get more prescribed for the new side effects for manageability.

Perception By Design:  thoughtbelief, or opinion, often held by many people and based on appearances

The first official, paid television advertisement was broadcast in the United States on July 1, 1941, over New York station WNBT (subsequently WNBC) before a baseball game between the Brooklyn Dodgers and Philadelphia Phillies.  The realization of enormous profit margins, the successful propaganda campaigns influencing public opinions during World War 2 and application of documented psychological marketing techniques changed how the US perceived reality.  Now this was some hella Gumbo served to mankind and a personal observation.  The WDCD Live Amsterdam 2017 Report, Topic: ‘NO DOUBT THAT WE NEED DESIGN TO SOLVE MANKIND’S PROBLEMS’ symposium, enlightened me on the changes happening by individuals/companies with the collective goal of addressing our consumerism.

To stop the INsAnITy I looked outside of this culture and concentrated on Traditional African (an alternative medicine discipline involving indigenous herbal-ism and African spirituality, typically involving diviners, midwives, and herbalists), Traditional Chinese and Ayurvedic medicine because they are some of the healthiest and oldest (3,000 – 5,000 years) with a focus on the natural remedy and alternate (less stressful more family oriented) lifestyles.  I hate to call them alternative as they are 3,000-5,000 years of applied science that Americans were unfamiliar that work better than our pharmaceutical compounds engineered for profit and creation of physical distress.

My pain is in remission but if I go back to my old ways it comes back out to wreak havoc with a vengeance so I embrace my decision to improve my overall health that has also cleared my skin, stopped my sensitivities, brightened my eyes, stabilized my blood sugar level, lowered my blood pressure because my body is not in constant war mode, cleared my thinking and eliminated my fibrofog, increased my energy ten-fold – I now wake up refreshed & mobile.  The benefits almost make me want to cry from the sheer joy of having my health/life back and I no longer take for granted that in a non-pristine world all nutrients are equal.

CRITICAL THINKING IS a desire to seek, patience to doubt, fondness to meditate, slowness to assert, readiness to consider, carefulness to dispose and set in order; and hatred for every kind of imposture.” – Francis Bacon (1605)

This meant a reduction to elimination of processed foods with a new way of shopping/preparing food with anti-inflammatory properties.  Raw food (lightly steamed or stir fried) freeze excess before it can go bad, meat thick as my hand size of my palm (I cut and store this way for easy meal prep), chicken as it comes, frozen fruits/vegs on hand in case of emergency, whole lemons/limes cut in halves or quarters frozen and dropped in smoothies/sun teas/water, purchase foods from local organic farmers, Apple Cider Vinegar with Mother (miracle but it’s a jaw clencher), real butter (moderation is key), Thrive website for sweet alternative recipes.  Cooking is not my friend so I have 15-20 minute one pot to plate recipes, I can cook 1 cup of rice and use it for up to 3 days.  Avocado oil has a high heat threshold so it is the one used most often couple tablespoons to sauté garlic, onions, vegetables.   Unfortunately, due to allergies I just cannot eat shellfish or bottom feeding fish this leaves me with salmon/perch/whiting/tuna there are others but I am good.  A good pot of 15 bean or navy beans but I must learn how to make edible biscuits instead of hockey pucks, ongoing.  Various herbal teas with anti-inflammatory properties.  Still trying to wrap my taste buds around seaweed soup.

Right now, my focus is on developing the habit of stocking my home with nutritionally dense food and snacks as a staple to avoid “confusion”, lol.  The recipes will be tweaked to keep my taste buds happy by adding Mediterranean spices and changing the sauces for variety but they will still be simple, my one prerequisite.  In it for the flavor not culinary training besides fresh veggies with meat and rice/noodles always looks good.

Next time, I will share how I picked the natural supplements best for my Gumbo that changed my world.

REFERENCES:

6 Traditional Chinese Medicine Techniques Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) encompasses several methods designed to help patients achieve and maintain health.

Shen Nong Chinese Herbal Glossary an in depth, comprehensive database

Minimalist Beauty – Awesome and informative for those looking to go natural,  with style and grace while minimizing their footprint.  Essential and Herbal Oil posts my go to for clarification.

Ayurvedic Medicine  Univ of Minnesota: Taking Charge of your Health and Well Being.  Founded upon the belief that all areas of life impact health. Great Overview provided me with more insight into what I needed to addressed.

